South African Substates
Worldwide Guide to Women in Leadership

South African Sub-states

Also see South Africa Heads and South Africa Ministers

Balobedu (Northern Province) (Lobedu)

The Balobedu Kingdom have got a population of more than a milion people. 

The Queen - apart from her ruling duties - have got the duty of providing her 

nation with rain

1800-54    Rain Queen Maselekwane Modjadji I

1854-95 Rain Queen Masalanabo Modjadji II

1896-1959 Rain Queen Khetoane Modjadji III

1959-80 Rain Queen Makoma Modjadji IV
1981-2001 Rain Queen Mokope Modjadji V

She succeded mother, and lived (1937-2001).
2003-05 Rain Queen Makobo Modjadji VI 

Granddaughter of Mokope Modjadji V as her mother, Princess Maria Modjadji, died two days before her. Her daughter, Princess Masalanabo is likely to be chosen as the next Rain Queen when she turns 18 in 2022. The regent of the state is now Mokope Modjadji's brother and some factions want his daughter to be appointed the next monarch. She lived (1978-2005)

1968-75 Reigning Queen Mother Mankopodi
Reigned during the minority of her son, but was deposed by the Royal Council, as a  result of a dispute. She died in the late 1970's.


Before 1817 Acting Kgôsi MmaMane
1817-24 Acting Kgôsi Monyale a Mothaba

Also known as MmaNtatise Sia Mosayane. She lived (1780/82-1835).

The Khoikhoi 

Until 1750 Chieftainess Hoho
1713 a smallpox
epidemic had decimated the Khoikhoi (previsously known as Hottentot) and in 1750 she was defeated by the Xhosa, and the tribe was assimilated into the Xhosa, and the only trace of them today is the klick-sound in the Xhosa language.


Until 1850 Chief Mugaji I

1850-94 Chief Mugaji II 

She succeded mother. Lived (1800-95)


1828-40 Acting Chief Sutu of Parabe (Xhosa kinddom)

For chief Sandile
of Tongaland/Maputaland

Around 1887-after 1889 Queen Regent Zambili Tembe 

In 1887 she asked for British protection over the entire area under her control, which she defined as stretching northwards from the Mkuze River to the Portuguese border and east of the Swazi border.

A preliminary treaty was signed on 6 July 1887. The treaty acknowledged the request of the Mabudu to be British citizens without actually granting them that status. The treaty also stipulated that the 

Mabudu were not allowed to sign treaties or engage in correspondence with any other European powers,  without British consent. In return Britain guaranteed ‘peace and friendship’. A British deputation, under 

C.R. Saunders visited Maputaland and officially signed the treaty at Emifihleni, the royal homestead, in October 1887. The Saunders treaty stipulated that ‘Thongaland’ included the entire area north of the Mkhuze River, between the Lubombo Mountains 

and the Indian Ocean. In 1888 Britain shifted the boundaries of ‘Thongaland’, marking Lake Sibayi, some distance north of the Mkhuze River as the northern boundary of Zululand. The Mabudu complained that the Mkhuze River 

had traditionally been the southern boundary of their chiefdom, and in April 1889 she sent a deputation to Pietermaritzburg to complain about the new boundary between Zululand and Thongaland (Maputaland). The deputation complained about the way in which 

Maputaland had been cut in half, and asked that the Mabudu be freed from their treaty with the British. The request was rejected. A similar deputation was sent to the Portuguese Government. The deputation arrived in Lisbon in May 1889, but met a similar fate. 

Zulu Kingdom 
1781-85 Regent Princess Mkabayi

For brother Chief Senzangakhoa. Jointly with cousin.
1815-27 Queen Mother Ndlorukazi Nandi

1828-... Regent Princess Mnkabayi 

Various Paramount Chiefesses

1941-46  Acting Inkosi Enkhulu (Paramount Chief) Elizabeth Tshatshu 

of the amaNtinde-line

1943-57  Acting Inkosi Enkhulu (Paramount Chief) Nofikile a Ngongo 

of the imiDushane  kaNdlambe line of the Xhosas 

1953-? Inkosi Enkhulu (Paramount Chief) Nonayithi JaliaMthathi of the imiQhayi-line 
1991- Chief Sibongile Zungu, Madlebe Tribe in KwaZulu Natal

She was invested with the title after the death of her husband, and her claims was confirmed 

by the Supreme Court of South Africa against the half-brother of her her late husband.
1997-? Acting Chieftainess Fikele Lydia Nkosi

For nephew Sifiso Lucky Nkosi

1997-2001 Acting Inkosi Enkhulu Bhongolethu a Makhungu Dlamini of West amaPondo

She acted for Ndamase Ndamase a Nyangelizwe (b. 1983, who was inaguarated 

in 2001.
Around 1997-2001 Chieftainess Nolitha Matiwana of Emboland

Member of the Eastern Cape House of Tradtional Leaders in 1997. In 2000 her sister 

became the second woman member of a total of 20.
Circa 2000- Chieftainess Noiseko Gayilla of the Amambombo Tribe 

at Keiskammahoek (Eastern Cape)

Elected to the Eastern Cape House of Tradtional Leaders in 2000, where her sister had

been a member since 1997.
2000- Acting Chieftainess Noluntu of abaThembu

Acting for Bayelekhaya Zwelinbanzi Dalindyebo a Sabata (b. 1964), who had

been in office since 1989.

?-2000- Senior Chieftainess Nopharkamisa Mditshwa of the Pondomise Tribe
In 2000 Chiefess N. Mopeli of Thababosiu
In 2000 Chiefess M.H. Mota of Phomolong
In 2000 Chiefess Angelina Ramadimetja Chaune of Ditlou Machidi 

Local Government
In 2000 Chiefess Dina Ngwanamohule Seloane of Batau-Ba-Seloane
In 2000 Chiefess Mpungose Lilly Busiswe (Ibamba) of Mpungose
In 2000 Chiefess Nancy Tseane Mamaila of Mamaila
In 2000 Chiefess Anna Mpitso Shongoane of Shongoane 
In 2000 Chiefess Eugine Bhekintina Zulu of Mandhlakazi 
2008- Hosi (Chief) Tinyiko Lwandhlamuni Philla Nwamita Shilubana of the Valoyi 

When her father, Hosi Fofoza Nwamitwa, died in 1968 without a male heir, her uncle became chief because customary law athe time did not permit a woman to become Hosi. During 1996 and 1997 

the traditional authorities of the community passed resolutions deciding that she would succeed her uncle, since in the new constitutional era women were equal to men. And her succession was approved by 

the provincial government. However, following the death of her uncle 2001, her cousin interdicted her installation and challenged her succession, claiming that the tribal authorities had acted unlawfull. The Supreme Court concluded 

that the traditional authorities had the authority to develop their customary law under the Constitution and that her cousin did not have a right to be declared Hosi. She was elected MP for ANC in 1999. (b. 1942-).


Last update 09.09.11