South Africa Heads of State

Worldwide Guide to Women in Leadership
Republic of South Africa/Republiek van Suid-Afrika/ningizimu Afrika/Afrika Borwa/ Iningizimu Afrika/Afrika Dzonga/Afreika Borwa/Afurika Tshiperube/Umzantsi Afrika  

See South African Substates

1952-61 Elizabeth the Second, Queen of South Africa and of Her Other Realms and Territories, Head of the Commonwealth (06.02-29.05)
From 1952-53 her official title was Elizabeth II, by the Grace of God of United Kingdom, Ireland and the British Dominions Beyond the Seas Queen, Defender of the Faith and Sovereign of South Africa. She has been Queen of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland since 1952.

2001 Acting President Sankie D. Mtembie-Mahanyele (20.4) 
Deputy Minister of Welfare 1994-95 , and since 1995 Minister of Housing.
On the 20th of April 2001, she was sworn in as the first female acting President in the Southafrican history while both President Thabo Mbeki and Vice-President Jacob Zuma were abroad. She only acted for a few hours. (b. 1951-)

2003 Acting President Dr. Manto Tshabalala-Msimang, South Africa (15.09)
2005-09 Member of the Pool of Possible Acting Presidents
Deputy Minister of Justice 1996-99 and since 1999 Minister of Health, she was appointed Acting
President when both the President and Vice-President were out of the country.
In 2005 the President appointed a pool of three ministers to step in as acting presidents in his and his deputy's absence (b. 1940-).

2003 Acting President  Dr. Ivy Matsepe-Casaburri (on one or two occations)
2005-09 Member of the Pool of Possible Acting Presidents
2008 Acting President

Premier of the Free State
1996-99 and since 1999 Minister of Communication. On 25. September, she was Acting Executive after the resignation of the President until a successor was elected and sworn in. (b. 1937-).

2004 Acting President Phumzile Mlambo-Ngcuka (28.07-30.07)
2005 Acting President (23.01)

2005-09 Deputy President

She was Deputy Minister of Industry and Trade 1996-99 and Minister of Minerals and Energy 1999-2005.

2008-09 Deputy President Baleka Mbete
Chairperson of the (ANC) Parliamentary caucus 1995-96, Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly 1996-2004 and Speaker 2004-08 and ANC Chairperson from 2007. When the President resigned in September 2008, it was expected that she would be named Acting President for the period until April 2009, but this position went to a man, who appointed her as Deputy President. Dropped from the cabinet in May 2009 (b. 1949-).

Last update 27.07.11