Papua New Guinea

Worldwide Guide to Women in Leadership
Papua New Guinea Local Leaders

Also see Papua New Guinea Ministers and Bougainville

1987-91 Premier Enny Moaitz, Morobe Province
Member of the Interim Provincial Government for Youth, Women and Home Affairs 1978-80, and in the period from 1980-91 as an elected member of the legislature, she held the portfolios of Youth, Women and Home Affairs, Finance and Forestry. Candidate for the national elections 1992 and 1997. (b. 1945-).

1989-91 Chairperson of the Interim Commission (Government) of the National Capital District
1997-2000 Governor Dame Josephine Abaijah, Milne Bay Province
2000-05 Member of the National Committee on Bouganville
She was ousted by a vote of no confidence but retained her position as MP, but later the High Court reinstalled her as governor.  She is the former leader of the papuan sessions movement as The Papuan Freedom Party since 1972. It merged with another party in the 1990's. She was knighted in 1991 (b. 1942).

2005-? Acting Administrator Iva Kola, The National Capital District (Port Moresby)
Former director of corporate services of the National Capital District Commission.

2012- Governor Julie Soso, Eastern Highlands Province
One of three MP since. 2012.



Last update 08.08.12