Kenya Local Leaders

Worldwide Guide to Women in Leadership
Kenya Local Leaders

Also see Kenya Ministers

1938-49 Mayor Lady Gwladys Delmare, Nairobi
She was daughter of Rupert Beckett and Muriel Paget and first married to Sir Charles Markham and secondly to Hugh Cholmondeley, 3rd Baron Delamere, who died in 1931. She had lived in Kenya since 1928 and was member of the Nairoby Councl from 1934 and Deputy Mayor the following year. (1897-1943)

1961-circa 69 Mayor Grace Aktech Onyango, Town of Kisumu
MP 1969-84 and Deputy Speaker circa 1979-84, (b. 1934-)

1969-70 Deputy Mayor Margaret Wambui Kenyatta, Nairobi
1970-76 Mayor
Member of the City Council 1963-76,  Permanent Representative to the UN Environmental Program in Nairobi 1976-86. She was daughter of President of kenyatta (b. 1928)

198?-9? Deputy Provincial Commissioner Regina Musangi, Rift Valley

1998-99 District Commissioner Philemona Bachaberi Koech, Kitui 
1999-circa 2009 Provincial Commissioner of Eastern Province

Before 1999-2002 District Commissioner Clare Omollo, Nyandaru District 

1999-2001 District Commissioner Lorna Akoth Odero, Maragua District 
2001 District Commissioner of Kitui 
2001 District Commissioner of Migori
She was former First District Officer in the Laikipia District

2001-? District Commissioner Catherine... , Rachuonyo District

2002-? District Commissioner Anne Ngetich, Machakos

2002-04 District Commissioner Joyce Musieka, Tharaka Nithi
2004-13 Deputy Commissioner of the Coast Province

2009-13 Provincial Commissioner Claire Omollo, Eastern Province

2009-13 Senior Deputy Provincial Commissioner Ann Ngetich, Upper Central Province

2009-13 Senior Deputy Provincial Commissioner Lydia Muriuki, Eastern Nyanza Province

2013-14 Deputy Governor Dorothy Nditi, Embu
2014- Governor

2013- Deputy Governor Hazel Ezabel Nyamoki Ogunde, Mombasa County

2013- Deputy Governor Fatuma Mohamed Achani, Kwale County

2013- Deputy Governor Mary Ndiga Kibuka, Taita-Taveta County

2013- Deputy Governor Peninah Malonza, Kitui County

2013- Deputy Governor Adelina Ndeto Miau, Makueni County

2013- Deputy Governor Aruasa Evalyn Chepkirui, Narok County

2013- Deputy Governor Susan Chepkoech Kikwai, Kericho County

2013- Deputy Governor Ruth Adhiambo Odinga Busia, Kisumu County


 Last update 15.06.15