Japan Parties

Worldwide Guide to Women in Leadership
Japan Parties

Also see Japan Ministers

1955 Group Chairperson of the Socialist Party Satoko Togano

1966-86 Vice-Chairperson of the Socialist Party Takako Doi
1986-91 Chairperson 
1996-2003 Chairperson
of the Social Democratic Party

1977 Chairperson of the Women's Party Miso Enoki

1991-? Vice-President of the Communist Party Sadako Ogasawa

1992-? Vice-Chairperson  of the Social Democratic Party Manae Kubota
Later Minister of State of the Economic Agency

1997-99 Chairperson of the Diet Group of the New Party Sakigake Akiko Domoto
From 2001 Governor of

1998-2004 Deputy Leader of the New Komeito Party Toshiko Hamayotsu
2004 Acting Leader
Minister of Environment in 1994.

2000-03 Chairperson of the New Conservative Party (Hoshushinto) Chikage Ogi
Former Vice-Minister in the Directorate General of Science and Technology. She became Minister of Construction and Director General of the National Land Agency and from December the same year Minister of Land, Infrastructure and Transport.
The party merged with LDP in 2003. From 2004 President of the House of Councillors. (b. 1933-).

Secretary General of the Social Democratic Party (SDP) Mizuho Fukushima
13 Chairperson

2001-02 Chief of Policy Affairs of the Social Democratic Party (SDP) Kiyomi Tsujimoto
In that time three of the SDP's key positions are filled by women.

2012- Chairperson of the General Council of the Liberal Democrat Party Seiko Noda
Former Minister of Postal Affairs

2012-14 LDP Policy Chief Shinako Tsuchiya
MP from 1996 and Parliamentary Secretary for Foreign Affairs 2002-05 and Senior Vice Minister of the Environment 2006-07. (b. 1952-).

2014- LDP Policy Chief Tomoni Inada
Minister of Administrative Reform 2012-14. (b. 1959-)


Last update 02.09.14