Fiji Parties

Worldwide Guide to Women in Leadership
Fiji Parties

Also see Fiji Ministers

1976-79 President of National Federation party Irene Narayan
1977-79 Opposition Whip
1979-85 Deputy Opposition Leader
1985 Candidate for the Leadership
1991 Co-founder of Fiji Indian Congress
1996-? Co-Leader of Fijian Indian Congress

1980s Vice-President of the Alliance Party Adi Lale Lady Mara
1993-? Co-Leader Fijian Political Party
(Soqosoqo ni Vakavulewa ni Taukei, or SVP)
She founded the SVT
the successor to the disbanded Alliance Party that her husband had founded and led, but for the leadership she was outmanoevered by Sitiveni Rabuka, who had led the Fiji coups of 1987. She was The Roko Tui Dreketi, Paramount Chiefess of Rewa and Traditional Head of Burebasaga and married to Fijian President Ratu Sir Kamisese Mara, The Tui Lau, Tui Nayan and Tevita Uluilakeba, the Traditional Head of the Confederation of Touata TribesShe lived (1931-2004)

1985-90 Vice-President of Labour Jokapeci Tagi Elizabeth Koroi
1990- President of Labour
She was nurce 1957-77, involved in traded union work 1960-87 and founding member of the Fiji Labour Party in 1985. From 1999 Vice-President of the Senate

1989-91 Leader of Fiji Labour party Adi Kuini Bavadra Speed
1990-91 Leader Fiji Labour National Federation
1990-95 Leader of the Opposition
1995-98  Vice-President of Fijian Association Party
1998-2001 Leader of FAP
From 1999 Vice-Premier and Minister of Fijian Affairs. She lived (1949-2004).

1999- National Secretary of united General party Emelita Wendt Wihor

Circa 1999- Executive Secretary and Spokesperson of Soqosoqo Vakauulewani Taukei (Nationalist Fijian Party) Ema Druaueti

2001-06 Deputy Leader of the Opposition and Parliamentary Leader of New Labour Ofa Duncan

2005-06 Deputy Leader of the Opposition Bernadette Rounds-Ganilau
One of only two MPs from United People's Party. Fiji Labour Party was denied the role even though the 21 members of the FLP who were not in the multi-party, the cabinet continued to function as members of the opposition. She was  Assistant Minister for Social Welfare 2000-01.

2014-16 Leader of Social Democratic Liberal Party Paramount Chief Ro Teimumu Vuikaba Kepa, Roko Tui Dreketi
2014- Parliamentary Leader of SDLP
2014-16 Leader of the Opposition
First time Minister in 2001 and Rewa Paramount Chief since 2005. (b. 1945-)

2014- President of Fiji First Jiko Luveni
Minister of Women


Last update 14.01.17