Faeroes Islands Parties

Worldwide Guide to Women in Leadership
Faeroes Islands Parties

Also see Faero Islands Ministers

1990-93 Chairperson of the Social Democrats Marita Petersen
Minister of Justice and Premier Minister

1991-98 Chairperson of the People's Alliance Ingeborg Vinther

1993-98 Chairperson of of the Paliamentary Group of Sjálvstýrisflokkurin Self-Rule/Independence-Party Helena Dam á Neystabø
1994-200 1Party  Chairperson
Member of the government 1998-2001, and again 2008-11 as Social Democrat.

Circa 2000-04 Vice-Chairperson of the Social Democrats (Javnaðarflokkurin) Jansy Olsen
Mayor of Mykines 1997-2000

2001-04 Chairperson of Sambandsflokurin Lisbeth R. Petersen
Vice-Chairperson of the Lógting 1990-92, Deputy Mayor 1984-92 and Mayor of Tórshavn 1992-96. Before the 2004-elections she had been considered the favourite to become premier, but her poor performance during the election-campagn caused heavy losses for the party, and she resigned the day after the elections. Member of the Lógting until 2008 and until 2005 of the Danish Folketing (as the first Faeorish woman) (b. 1939-).

2004-? Vice-Chairperson of the Social Democrats (Javnaðarflokkurin) Helena Eliasen

Circa 2004-? Vice-Chairperson of the Sjálvstýrisflokkurin (Independence Party) Ása Olsen

2008 and 2011- Chairperson of the Parliamentary Group of Tjóðveldi Annita á Fríðriksmørk 
MP from 1998, Member of the Government in 2003. Substitute Member of the Danish Folketing from 2007, and when the elected member and party leader, Høgni Hoydal, became member of the government in 2008, she was supposed to take his seat, but was on maternity leave for some months. (b. 1968-).

2008 Chairperson of the Parliamentary Group of Tjóðveldi Bergtóra Høgnadóttir Joensen
In office during the absence of leave of Annita a Fridriksmørk

2011- Chairperson of the Parliamentary Group of Javnaðarflokkurin Eyðgunn Jana Samuelsen

Last update 25.11.11