Austria Parties

Worldwide Guide to Women in Leadership
Female Leaders of Austria Parties

Also see Austria Ministers

Circa 1920-25 Chairperson of the Women's Committee of the Grossdeutschen Volkspartei (Grand German People's Party) Emmy Strada
Member of the Nationalrat 1920-23 and 1925. The party was rightwing and advocated the unification of all "German Peoples". She lived (1877-1925)

1929-34 President of the Österreichische Frauenpartei Marianne Hainisch
Co-founder of the Women's Party and a leading feminist and campaigner for women's rights since 1870. She later became Vice-President of the Austrian Red Cross, and lived (1839-1936)

1929-34 Vice-President of the Österreichischen Frauenpartei Helene Granitsch geb. Mündl (Röder)
Co-founder of the party and a leading campaigner for Social Rights. At her 75th birthday she was named Honorary Vice-President of the "World Women's Party". She lived (1876-1956).

1945-59 Vice-Chairperson of Socialdemokratische Partei Österreichs (SPÖ) Gabriella Proft
Member of the Constituent Nationalvorsamlung 1919-20, and of the Nationalrat 1920-34 and 1945-53, she lived (1879-1971)

Circa 1961 Vice-Chairperson of Österreichs Volkspartei (ÖVP) Lola Solar
She lived (1904-89)

1966-83 Vice-Chairperson of ÖVP Edda Egger

1971-86 Vice-Chairperson of ÖVP Dr. Marga Hubinek
Also Vice-Chairperson of the National Assembly

1979-90 Vice-Chairperson of the Social Democrat Members of the Nationalrat and Bundesrat Dr. Jolande Offenbach
1984 Vice-Chairperson of SPÖ

1982-92 Vice-Chairperson of Freiheitliches Partei Österreichs (FPÖ) Klara Motter
In 1993 she joined Liberales Forum of Heide Schmidt

1983-91 Vice-Chairperson of the Social Democrat members of the Bundesrat Edith Barischer

Circa 1985 Chairperson Alternative Liste Österreichs (ALÖ) Edith Caslaski

1986-88 Chairperson of the Parliamentary Faction of Die Grüne (Greens) Dr. Freda Meissner-Blau
1987-90 Party Chairperson
She was Presidential candidate in 1986

1988-90 Secretary General of FPÖ Dr.iur., & Mag.rer.soc.oec. Heide Schmidt
1990-93 Vice-Chairperson of FPÖ
1993-2000 Chairperson of Liberalen Forum
1993-99 Parliamentary Leader of LIF
2008 Acting Leader of LIF

1990-92 Vice-Chairperson of the Parliamentary Faction of SPÖ Dr. Brigitte Erderer
1996-97 Secretary General of SPÖ
Former State Secretary and at present Councillor in the local government of Vienna

Circa 1990  Leader of ALÖ Doris Eisenreigler

1990- Leader of the Kommunistische Partei Österreichs Margitta Kaltenegger

1991 Vice-Chairperson ÖVP Dr.iur. Helga Rabe-Stadler

1991-93 Vice-Chairperson ÖVP Ruth Feldgrill-Zenkel

1991-circa 98 Secretary General of ÖVP Dr. Ingrid Korosec

1992-95 Chairperson of the members of the Bundersrat of FPÖ Dr.iur. Susanne Riess-Passer
1996-2000 Caretaking Chairperson
1997-98 Chairperson of the members of the Bundesrat of FPÖ
2000-02 Party Chairperson
Also Vice-Premier 2000-03.

1992-99 Leader of the Parliamentary Faction of the Green Party Dr.iur. & Mag.rer.soc.oec. Madeleine Petrovic
1994-96 Speaker of the Federal Party
1999-2001 Vice-Chairperson of the Faction
2001-08 Deputy Federal Spokesperson

1992-99 Vice-Chairperson of FPÖ Edith Haller
From 1999 she is secretary in the Presidium of the Nationalrat

1995-99 Chairperson of the Parliamentary Faction of ÖVP Dr. Maria Fekter
2008- Vice-Chairperson of ÖVP
Secretary of State of Economy for Construction and Tourism 1990-95 and Secretary of the Nationalrat 2004-08, Federal Minister of Interior.

1995- Deputy Federal Chairperson of SPÖ Barbara Prammer
2000-04 Deputy Leader of the SPÖ-Klub in the Nationalrat
From 1991 Deputy Chairperson of SPÖ in Oberösterreich, former Federal Minister and from 2004 Vice-President of the National Assembly

1995-2008 Vice-Chairperson of ÖVP Elisabeth Zanon-zur Nedden
Councillor of Family, Health, Youth, Women, Housing etc. in Tirol 1997-2008 and Deputy Premier 2006-08 and Vice-Chairperson of the local party until 2008.

1995-2003 Secretary General of ÖVP Maria Rauch-Kallat
Minister in the 1990s and 2003-07.

Circa 1997-98 Vice-Chairperson of ÖVP Waltraud Klasnic
Former Landeshauptfrau, Premier in Steiermark

1998-2001 and 2004- Secretary General of the Green Party Michaela Sburny 

1999-2005 Vice-Chairperson of FPÖ Daniela Raschhofer
Member of the European Parliament 1997-2004. (b. 1960-).

2000- Deputy Federal Chairperson of SPÖ Renate Csörgits 
2006- Vice-Chair of the Parliamentary Club
Candidate for the post of Vice-President of the Parliament in her own party in 2007.

2000-03 Secretary General of SPÖ Andrea Kuntzl

2000-07 and 2008- Secretary General of SPÖ Doris Bures
Federal Minister of Women's Equality 2007-08.

2002-08 Deputy Federal Spokesperson Grüne Partei Eva Glawischnig-Piesczek
2002-08 Deputy Klubobfrau
2008- Federal Spokesperson, Party Leader and Parliamentary Leader
Eva Glawischnig
was Vice-President of the Nationalrat 2006-08. (b. 1969-).

2002 Designate Deputy Leader of FPÖ Ursula Haubner
Chief of the management and Co-Leader
2004-05 Leader of FPÖ
13 Deputy Chairperson of the Parliamentary Club of BZÖ
Member of the government in Oberösterreich, she was nominated deputy to one of the leader candidates in the chaos that followed after her brother - former party leader and Jörg Haider had staged a coup against the leader, Susanne Riess-Passer
. She afterwards became Co-Leader and Chief of Management until she was elected Party Leader. She left the post when her brother founded
Bündnis für die Zukunft Österreichs, BZÖ. Minister of Social Affairs 2005-07.

2002-05 Vice-Chairperson of FPÖ Magda Bleckmann
Leader of the FPÖ Assembly Faction 1996-2000 and from 2002 Councillor in the Government of Steiermark. (b. 1968-).

2004- Vice-Chairperson of the Communist Party (KPÖ) Lilian Stadler

2005- Vice-Chairperson of the Bündnis für die Zukunft Österreichs (BZÖ) Heike Trammer
Member of the City Council of Vienna 2001-09.

2005-06 Vice-Chairperson of the
Bündnis für die Zukunft Österreichs (BZÖ) Karin Miklautsch
Minister of Justice since 2004. Married and changed her name to
Karin Gastinger, and gave birth to a son in July 2006. (b. 1964-).

2005- Vice-Chairperson of FPÖ Barbara Rosenkranz
Vice-Chairperson of FPÖ in Niederösterreich 1996-2003 and Chairperson from 2003. Also former Chairperson of the Parliamentary Group of the Assembly, Councillor of Housing and Animal Protection from 2008. The only female among the 8 Federal Vice-Chairs. Mother of 10 children. (b. 1958-).

2006-08 Secretary General of ÖVP Michaela Mojzis

6 Deputy Federal Spokesperson of Die Grüne Maria Vassilakou
Parliamentary Leader of the Green Party in the Landtag of Wien 2005-10 and Deputy Chief of Government and Deputy Mayor and City Councillor for Urban Development, Transort, Climate-Protection, Energy Plannig and Citizen's Participation. (b. 1969-).

2008- Vice-Chairperson of ÖVP Johanna Mikl-Leitner
Councillor of Social Affairs, Labour and Family in Niederösterreich. (b. 1964-).

2008- Secretary General of SPÖ Laura Rudas

2012- Vice-Chairperson of NEOS – Das Neue Österreich Beate Meinl-Reisinger

2013-15 Chairperson of the Parliamentary Group of Team Stronach Kathrin Nachbaur

Party Vice-Chair 2013-14. In 2015 she joined the Conservative Party. (b. 1979-)


2014 Acting Chairperson of the Parliamentary Group of Tram Stronach Waltraud Dietrich

2015- Chairperson of the Parliamentary Group of Tram Stronach

2016- Deputy Federal Spokesperson fo Die Grüne Ingrid Felipe, Tirol
Deputy Premier and Councillor of Environment, European Trafic Politics and Coordination of Sustainablility in Tirol from 2013.




Last update 05.05.16