Trinidad and Tobago Parties

Worldwide Guide to Women in Leadership
Trinidad and Tobago Parties

Also see Trinidad and Tobago Ministers

1956-61 Vice-Chairperson of Peoples National Movement Isabel Ursula Cadogan Teshea

1994- Leader and Founder of Movement for Unity and Progress Hulsie Bhaggan

1996-2002 Chairman of Peoples National Movement Dr. Linda Baboolal

1996-? Deputy Leader of Peoples National Movement Joan Yville-Williams
Former Minister, MP and Senator.

1996 Deputy Leader of the Opposition (Peoples National Movement) in the Senate Nafessa Mohammed
1996- Deputy Political Leader
Deputy Party Leader and possibly later Opposionion Leader in the Senate. She  was Senator until 2001.

1999-2001 Chairperson of People's Empowerment Party 
2000-2001 Leader of the Opposition in the Tobago House of Assembly 
Deborah Moore-Miggins
She was Trinidad and Tobago Senator 1995-96.

1999-2000 Deputy Leader of the People's Empowerment Party 
2000-01 Leader of the People's Empowerment Party Beverly Ramsey-Moore
Senator from 2001.

2001-02 Leader of the Independent Business in the Senator Eastlyn McKenzie
Senator since 1995. Her role is administrative, the 11 senators appointed as independents did not form a group.

Circa 2005- Deputy Political Leader of The United National Congesss Kamla Persad-Bissessar
2006-07 Parliamentary Leader of UNC and Leader of the Oppostion
2010- Political Leader of the United National Congress
Attorney General 1995-96, Minister of Legal Affairs 1996-99, Minister of Education 1999-2001, Acting Prime Minister in September 2000 and Attorney General and Minister of Legal Affairs in 2001. She became Parliamentary Leader after internal divisions in the party after the former Prime Minister, Basdeo Panday, had to resign in 2005 because of corruption charges. On 4 October he endorsed her as Leader and Prime Ministerial candidate and a majority in the governing committee backed this, but on 6 October Panday and another man were chosen as joint leaders with no candidate for the post of Prime Minister. Panday had been convicted on the charges and later cleared because of legal technicalities. In 2010 she defeated Panday in a "landslide" as Party Leader and was Prime Minister 2010-15. She is (b. 1952-).

2009-? Deputy political leader of the United National Congress (UNC) Lyndira Oudit
Appointed Senator in 2009 and Senate Vice-President in 2010.

2015 Acting Chairperson of the United National Congress (UNC) Khadija Ameen


Last update 20.09.15