Malta Heads of State

Worldwide Guide to Women in Leadership
Heads of State of Malta (Female Suffrage 1947)
1190-1427 The County of Malta was a vassal o Sicily and 1330-82 occupied by Kingdom of Aragˇn.The Island was under the sovereignty of the Knights of Saint John 1530-1798 (Order of Malta) and became a British Protectorate 1982 and was a British Crown Colony from 1814 till it became independent in 1964, a republic 1974

Also see Malta Ministers

1266-96 Countess Lucina Pistore of Malta
She held the county as a fief of the Aragonese ruler of Sicily in succession to her father, Niccol˛ Pistore, who was count 1265-66 in succession to Enrico Pistore, who had been count since 1204.

1387-91 Countess Giacoma d'Alagona of Malta
Guillermo d'Aragona was count around 1377. She held the county as a fief of the Aragonese ruler of Sicily, and was succeeded by Guillermo Raimondo de Moncada

1966-74 Elizabeth the second, by the Grace of God Queen of Malta and of Her other Realms and Territories, Head of the Commonwealth (21.09-13.12)
Queen of The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland since 1952. (b. 1926-).

1982-87 President of the Republic Agatha Barbara
Labour MP 1947-82, 1955-58 Minister of Education and Culture, 1971-74 Minister of Education and Culture, 1974-81 Minister of Labour, Welfare and Culture. From 1971 she as Acting Prime Minister on various brief occasions. She lived (1923-2002).

2014- President Marie-Louise Coleiro Preca
Labour MP 1998-2014 and Minister of Family and Social Solidarity 2013-14. (b. 1958-).




Last update 04.04.14