Iceland Heads

Worldwide Guide to Women in Leadership
Heads of State of Iceland/ Lyðvelelið Ísland (Limited female Suffrage at local elections 1882 which became unrestricted 1908 and suffrage for the Alþing 1915) 1918-1944 Internal Self Government in Personal Union with Denmark and the Danish King, declared its independence 1944

Also see Iceland Ministers

If the Office of President of the Republic becomes vacant or if the President is unable to perform his duties due to a stay abroad, illness, or other reasons, the Prime Minister, the President of Althingi and the President of the Supreme Court shall exercise presidential authority. The President of Althingi shall preside at their meetings. In a divergence of opinion among them, the majority shall prevail. The President's term of office begins on the 1st of August and ends on the 31st of July four years later, and the Vice-Presidency acts during the vacancy from 31.07 until 01.08. They are known as "The executives of presidential authority" while in office.

1980-96 President Vigdis Finnbogadóttir (1.8.-30.7)
In 1972-80 Director of Iceland’s National Theater was the world’s first
democratically elected female President. She was a divorcee as she adopted a daughter. (b.1930-)

1988-91 Member of the Vice-presidency, President of the Sameinað Alþing Guðrún Helgádóttir
In 1987-88, 1992-95 Vice-President of the Alþing, from 1998 President of the United Alliance Party. As President of the United Alþing she was member of the Vice-presidency of the Country. (b. 1930-)

1991-92 and 2003-05 Member of the Vice-presidency, President of the Supreme Court Guðrún Erlendsdóttir
was the only female High Court judge 1986-2001 and vas Vice-President 1989-91 and 2000-03 and resigned 2006. The presidency rotates among the judges. (b. 1936-)

1991-95 Member of the Vice-presidency, President of the Alþing Sálome Þorleiksdóttir
In 1987-88 Vice-President of the Efri Deild (Upper House), 1988-91 Vice-President for the Sameinað Alþing. The Alþing became an uniCámaral legislature in 1991. (b. 1935-)

2005-07 Member of the Vice-presidency, President of the Alþing Sólveig Pétursdóttir
Minister of Justice and Church Affairs 1999-2003. Vice-Chairperson of the Alþing and Chairperson of the Foreign Affairs Committee 2003-05. (b. 1954-).

2009-13 Member of the Vice-presidency, Prime Minister Jóhanna Sigurðardóttir
MP 1978-2013, Deputy Chairperson of the Social Democrats 1984-93, Chairperson 1994-99 and Parliamentary Leader of the National Revival Party 1995-96 until she rejoined the Social Democrats and became its Leader in 2009. Vice-President of the Lower Chamber 1979 and 1983-84, Vice-Chairperson of the the Alþing 2003-07 and its President-by-Age from 2007. Minister of Social Affairs 1987-91 1991-94 and 2007-09. First married to Þorvaldur Steinar Jóhannesson with whom she has 2 sons and since 2000 she lives in a civil partnership with the author Jónína Leósdóttir, who is mother of 1 son. (b. 1942-).

2009-13 Member of the Vice-presidency, President of the Alþing Ásta R. Jóhannesdóttir
Social Democratic MP from 2000, Vice-Chairperson
of the Alþing 2007-09 and Minister of Social Affairs in 2009. (b. 1949-).

2010-12 Member of the Vice-presidency, President of the High Court Ingibjörg Benediktsdóttir
Judge in the High Court from 2001 and it's Vice-President 2008-10, Judge from 1992. 2010-12 was the first time that all the three  executives of presidential authority were women. (b. 1948-)

2017- Member of the Vice-presidency, President of the Alþing Unnur Brá Konráðsdóttir
MP from the Indepence Party from 2009, Vice-Chairperson of the Althing 2009-13. (b. 1974-).

Last update 14.01.17