Guyana Heads of State

Worldwide Guide to Women in Leadership
The Cooprative Republic of Guyana
(Female right to stand for elections 1945, suffrage 1953) Formerly a British Colony by the name of British Guyana which got internal self government in 1957, became independent in 1966 and a republic in 1970

Also see Guyana Ministers

1966-70 Elizabeth the Second, by the Grace of God Queen of Guyana and of Her other Realms and Territories, Head of the Commonwealth (25.05-23.02)
Queen of The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland since 1952 (b. 1926-)

1985-91 2. Vice-President and Deputy Prime Minister Viola Harper Burnham
1985-90 Minister of Social Infrastructure
1989-91 Minister of Education, Culture and Social Development
Widow of President Burnham, Premier 1964-80 and President 1980-85(). After his death she was in question as his successor but instead became deputy to the successor.

1997 First Vice-President, Prime Minister and Minister of Mines Janet Rosenberg Jagan (6.3-22.12)
1997-99 President (19.12-11.8) (Head of State and Government)
She lived (1920-2009).



Last update 29.03.09