Bahrain Parliament
Female Heads of the Parliament  Bahrain/Dawlet al-Bahrain (Female suffrage was possibly recognized in 1973, but it was not until 2002 that women could both vote and stand for elections.) Independent 1971, formerly under British protection.

2006-11 Second Deputy Chairperson of the Majlis al-shura  Alice Thomas Samaan
In 2005 she presided over the Consultative Council as the most senior member in the absence of the Chair and two Deputy Chairs. She was the first non-Muslim to act as Chairperson. Ambassador to United Kingdom from 2011.


Last update 13.05.13