Algeria Parliament Worldwide Guide to Women in Leadership
Female Heads of the Parliament of Algeria (Last updated 2013)
(Female Suffrage 1948/62) Annexed to France 1842, the northern became a French department in 1881, the southern part a colony. Independence in 1962. 

Also see Algeria Ministers

The Algerian parliament has got two chambers, the l’Assemblée Populaire Nationale et le Conseil de la Nation (Upper House)

2002-07 3. Vice-President of the Conceil de Nation Zohra Drif Bitat
2007- 1. Vice-Presideint
She was active in the resistance against the French in Algeria and known as a national hero.



Last update 28.08.13